5 Little Habits to Stop Morning Depression

Morning Depression is that feeling you feel when you first open your eyes.  The severe feeling of dread that just blankets your soul and stifles you and you just want to hide away or sleep it off or something like that.

I woke up this morning dreading a phone call from the bank.  Since switching apartments, I have been about $900 or more over budget (deposit, first month’s rent, rent on old place… still need deposit back from old place). Now, my anxiety comes into play, here, but I will do my best to focus on the depression.  The whole money thing is, ultimately, not a problem, but it weighs on me. I get so tired worrying about it that I’m getting to the point where I just don’t care and-for-the-love-of-god-just-let-me-sleep. And that’s the depression.

I forced myself to get up and do some exercises to get my heart rate up……I played Skyrim (which really got my heart rate up – don’t judge, but once attacked by a magical tree creature… always afraid of bushes).  then, I decided that making a list of things to get one out of a morning funk is just what the doctor ordered.

1. Stretches

Get that heart rate up!  Swing your arms! Do push ups! Punch a bean bag! Literally anything that, ultimately, get your heart pumping and that adrenaline going will do the trick!

2. Watch a scary show/or video game playthrough 

Markiplier is my favorite, here.  Again, it is all about getting that heart rate up and any way to get that job done is probably what you need to do! It only takes 5-10 minutes… watch it while you brush your teeth!  I also like to play a few minutes of Subnautica – it is not exactly a horror or scary game, but it kinda gets that adrenaline going for me.

3. Go for a walk

And when I say walk I mean… probably something like climbing a hill or something because walking does not exactly get that heart pumping those life-giving juices all by itself.

4. Take a shower

Also because health reasons, but taking a shower stimulates your skin and elevates your heart rate.  Get some sweet, sweet essential oils like frankincense to combat your depression and make your house smell good.

5. Strike some power poses

Ever heard of power poses?  Well… think of Wonder Woman and how she stands on the covers of comic books.  You know… her feet hip-width apart, hands on her hips, looking over one shoulder with a look of I am going to kick the ass of everything that gets in my way because I am Wonder Woman.  Or, Captain Marvel… similar pose.  It’s finding a pose that gives you confidence!  Personally, I strike my power pose every few minutes when I am at work because anxiety.

Comments

2 comments on “5 Little Habits to Stop Morning Depression”
  1. We never thought to watch a scary show or a video gameplay. I will have to try that. I am always in a morning slump. Honey is on team no sleep and can easily get up and go. She opts for stretching or morning cartoons. – Fox

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It gets the heart pumping… I tell ya

      Like

Leave a Reply

